Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition

One of the most important genealogical sources available today. (Proquest, SMTH)

FamilySearch

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history. Any images found in the catalog that include the notation that they must be accessed at a FamilySearch Affiliate Library can be viewed from computers at any Smithtown Library building. This includes personal devices accessing the library's wireless network (wifi). Users must create their own (free) FamilySearch account and login in order to use the service. (SMTH)

Fold3

Fold3

Formerly known as Footnote. Search Historical Documents and more. Fold3 is a great tool for Genealogists and those doing genealogy searches. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online

U.S. federal census records 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

MyHeritage

MyHeritage

Formerly called World Vital Records. MyHeritage includes over 8 billion historical records and complete census information to help you complete genealogy and family history research. (Live-brary.com, Ebsco)

New York Heritage Digital Collections

New York Heritage Digital Collections

A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. Provides access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items.

New York Times Historical (1851-2014)

New York Times Historical (1851-2014)

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2014. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday Historical (1940-1989)

Newsday Historical (1940-1989)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Access to local newspapers covering nearly 100 years of Suffolk County, NY history. Including obituaries. (Live-brary.com)