211 Long Island

211 Long Island

Directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island - services for children, teens, adults, families, and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties. [Formerly Community Resource Database of Long Island]

ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists)

ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialists)

The ABMS Directory provides access to professional information about more than 900,000 board certified physicians in 50+ specialties and 100+ subspecialties from the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). (SMTH)

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

AllData Repair

AllData Repair

Today's mechanical repair and collision repair professionals need more than paper car manuals and generic repair information. Car recalls; Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs); detailed, factory-correct wiring diagrams repair information and more are easy to find and use. (SMTH)

American Journeys

American Journeys

American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. (ALL)

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition

One of the most important genealogical sources available today. (Proquest, SMTH)

AREIS (Advanced Real Estate Information System)

AREIS (Advanced Real Estate Information System)

AREIS is a database containing real estate tax maps for Suffolk County. It is searchable by tax map number, last name or address. It is for in library use only. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk. (SMTH)

Auto Repair Source

Auto Repair Source

Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles back to 1974. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Bases de Datos

Bases de Datos

Puede buscar en estas bases de datos en español. Para buscar en una sola base de datos, oprima en el nombre de la base de datos listado a continuación de las mismas. Para seleccionar más de una base de datos en que buscar, ponga un visto en las casillas junto a las bases de datos y oprima en el botón RETORNO. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

BBC Languages

BBC Languages

Learn a new language with an online course from the British Broadcasting Corporation. BBC Language offers free lessons in French, Spanish, German and Italian along with shorter courses in Portuguese, Greek and Chinese and helpful travel and business information in many more languages. Courses include extensive audio and video features. (ALL)

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

The Wilson Biography Reference Bank offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic

Britannica Academic delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research—all from one resource. Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, Britannica Academic’s articles provide trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else. (NOVELNY)

Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar

Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. (NOVELNY)

Britannica School

Britannica School

Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High. (NOVELNY)

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials

While other business resources are merely aggregations of articles, Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a user-friendly business tool. In addition to providing authoritative information and statistical data, Gale Business Insights: Essentials enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills. [Formerly Business & Company Resource Center] (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier provides access to full-text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly business journals, including nearly 1,050 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Career Cruising

Career Cruising

Learn more about yourself and careers that suit your interests. Search for careers and find out what they are really like. Find out where to get the education you need to start your career. (Live-brary.com)

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

An acquisition, research and reference source that offers over 1,400,000 MARC records and over 260,000 reviews of children's books, all full-text and searchable from 35 review sources. (Live-brary.com)

Citation Machine

Citation Machine

Citation Machine helps students and professional researchers to properly cite the information that they use.

Consumer Reports Car Buying Guide

Consumer Reports Car Buying Guide

Full text access to the 2018 Car Issue of Consumer Reports. (Ebsco, Live-brary)

Consumer Reports Magazine

Consumer Reports Magazine

Online full text access to Consumer Reports Magazine. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference, formerly XRefer, is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research. (Live-brary.com)

CultureGrams

CultureGrams

The CultureGrams Online Database is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school students and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students). (ProQuest, Live-brary)

ERIC

ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Explora

Explora

Search for articles, essays and primary source materials for teens and adults. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

FamilySearch

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history. Any images found in the catalog that include the notation that they must be accessed at a FamilySearch Affiliate Library can be viewed from computers at any Smithtown Library building. This includes personal devices accessing the library's wireless network (wifi). Users must create their own (free) FamilySearch account and login in order to use the service. (SMTH)

Fold3

Fold3

Formerly known as Footnote. Search Historical Documents and more. Fold3 is a great tool for Genealogists and those doing genealogy searches. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Gale Directory Library

Gale Directory Library

The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directories. Use it to search, sort and export a variety of information such as financial information for companies, membership figures for associations, education- related financial aid and scholarships, and much more. (Gale, Live-brary)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. (Gale, Live-brary)

General OneFile

General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

GreenFILE

GreenFILE

GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles,as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Health and Medicine

Health and Medicine

Multi-source database providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online

U.S. federal census records 1790-1930 plus searchable family histories. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 59,640 historical documents, 50,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center

The Home Improvement Reference Center (HIRC) is a full text database accessible via a custom EBSCO interface. It is intended for use in public and academic libraries and is designed to assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects. Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files. Additionally, thousands of articles from magazines and reference books provide tips and suggestions to supplement the step-by-step project instructions. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Hoovers

Hoovers

D&B Hoovers delivers insightful information on more than 130 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. (SMTH)

Infotrac Custom Newspapers

Infotrac Custom Newspapers

Infotrac Custom Access offers access to full text articles from over 250 regional, national and international newspapers. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator

Take your job search to the next level with Job & Career Accelerator! Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from over 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired! (SMTH)

Kids infoBits

Kids infoBits

This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. It is developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface. (Live-brary.com)

LawDepot

LawDepot

Receive unlimited access to thousands of legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, Family, and more. All LawDepot forms, contracts, and agreements are created by a full-time team of lawyers. They are updated often in accordance with changes in the law. (Live-brary.com)

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want-at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you. Creating a username and password is required and allows Learning Express to remember you and what you were working on. (SMTH)

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LIS...

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus

A highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC Plus is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Masterfile Elite

Masterfile Elite

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily. (Ebsco, Live-brary)

MEDLINE Full Text

MEDLINE Full Text

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

MEDLINE Plus

MEDLINE Plus

Health information from the National Library of Medicine for health professionals and consumers.

MyHeritage

MyHeritage

Formerly called World Vital Records. MyHeritage includes over 8 billion historical records and complete census information to help you complete genealogy and family history research. (Live-brary.com, Ebsco)

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration [NHTSA]

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration [NHTSA]

A free Internet resource with crash test results, automotive recalls, and links to information on all aspects of automobile safety.

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

New York Heritage Digital Collections

New York Heritage Digital Collections

A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. Provides access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items.

New York State Historic Newspapers

New York State Historic Newspapers

Access to a wide range of historical newspapers that reflect New York's unique history. Search by newspaper title, publishing date, or keywords for content. (Live-brary)

New York State Newspapers

New York State Newspapers

Infotrac New York State Newspapers provides access to full text articles from various newspapers from the cities of Albany, Buffalo, and Syracuse plus the New York Observer, The New York Times, New York Post, and New York Daily News, back to 1980. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

New York Times (1980-present)

New York Times (1980-present)

Full-text from 1980 to the present of the New York Times. To search NYT Book Review or NYT Magazine see New York State Newspapers above. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

New York Times Historical (1851-2014)

New York Times Historical (1851-2014)

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2014. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

News

News

Gale OneFile News [Formally InfoTrac Newsstand] provides access to more than 3,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Some of the leading titles included are The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. (Gale, live-brary)

Newsday

Newsday

Complete articles from 1985 onward. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday Historical (1940-1989)

Newsday Historical (1940-1989)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers. (Ebsco, SMTH)

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus

Provides a student-focused interface and a database of young adult, children's and easy titles designed for children in pre-K, elementary or middle schools or your library's children's room. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. It includes information such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next? (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Pronunciator

Pronunciator

With Pronunciator you can learn up to 80 different languages! Choose from a variety of different learning tools for the learning style that suits you best. Perfect your pronunciation with the Pronunciation Analysis tool which provides real time feedback. Additionally, ESL learners can learn English in 50 different languages! (Live-brary)

ProQuest Platinum Periodicals

ProQuest Platinum Periodicals

Search the premier collection of periodicals from ProQuest, covering all aspects of general reference including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences, and current affairs. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA

Contains detailed information on more than 50 million U.S. businesses, 293 million U.S. residents, and 1.2 million U.S. Physicians and Dentists. (SMTH)

Regional Business News

Regional Business News

Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (Ebsco, SMTH)

Salem Health

Salem Health

Salem Health covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. The Guide includes more than 1,000 essays, ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words each. There are over 400 photographs and drawings plus 644 sidebars and tables. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Salem History

Salem History

Salem History contains more than 133 iconic full text documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Salem Literature

Salem Literature

Salem Literature has launched a brand-new Critical Insights series. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, in depth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Science Online

Science Online

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. (Facts on File, Live-brary.com)

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content. Designed to support middle and high school curriculum, Science Reference Center encompasses all disciplines of science. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Something about the Author

Something about the Author

Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Offers Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Outlook, Credit Week, mutual fund reports and more. Updated weekly and includes summaries of the companies, analyst opinions, stock outlooks, fair value and risk data, earnings and dividends rankings, technical evaluations, insider activity, price charts, and key stock statistics. (S&P, SMTH)

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Access to local newspapers covering nearly 100 years of Suffolk County, NY history. Including obituaries. (Live-brary.com)

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center

Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

US Newsstream

US Newsstream

Proquest/US Newsstream provides access to local, regional, and national newspapers (1980-current). Includes The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. (Proquest, Live-brary)

Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Weiss Ratings

Weiss Ratings

Powered by Weiss Ratings and Grey House Publishing, this website gives you powerful new tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances. Features independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions & insurance companies and provides conservative buy-hold-sell ratings of thousands of stocks, mutual funds & exchange traded funds. (SMTH)