Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition

all users button
 
all users button
  
Proquest has temporaily expanded access to users at home! Please click 'all users' and login with your library card information for access. Ancestry is one of the most important genealogical sources available today. (Proquest, SMTH)

FamilySearch

all users button   
FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history. Any images found in the catalog that include the notation that they must be accessed at a FamilySearch Affiliate Library can be viewed from computers at any Smithtown Library building. This includes personal devices accessing the library's wireless network (wifi). Users must create their own (free) FamilySearch account and login in order to use the service. (SMTH)

Fold3

inside button
 
outside button
  
Formerly known as Footnote. Search Historical Documents and more. Fold3 is a great tool for Genealogists and those doing genealogy searches. (Proquest, Live-brary.com)

HeritageQuest Online

inside button
 
outside button
  
Find ancestors in the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790-1940, including name indexes for many years. Also includes information on people and places described in over 28,000 family and local histories. Search selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension & Bounty-land Warrant Application Files. Finally, find facts from obituaries from the 1800's on. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

MyHeritage

inside button
 
outside button
   Formerly called World Vital Records. MyHeritage includes over 12 billion historical records and complete census information to help you complete genealogy and family history research. (Live-brary.com, Ebsco)

New York Heritage Digital Collections

all users button    A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. Provides access to more than 170 distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items.

New York Times Historical (1851-2016)

inside button
 
outside button
   The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2016. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday Historical (1940-1990)

inside button
 
outside button
   This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

all users button 2   Access to local newspapers covering nearly 100 years of Suffolk County, NY history. Including obituaries. (Live-brary.com)