Middle & High School

For additional help with homework and research, check out our databases listed in other subject headings as well (i.e 'Magazines/Journal Articles' and 'Newspapers').

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful

A comprehensive database about the states and territories of the U.S. designed to meet the needs of all grade levels. It is highly visual, fact-filled, interest-driven, and user-friendly. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

American Journeys

American Journeys

American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. (ALL)

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference, formerly XRefer, is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research. (Live-brary.com)

CultureGrams

CultureGrams

The CultureGrams Online Database is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school students and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students). (ProQuest, Live-brary)

Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedia Americana

This database helps middle- to upper-grade students find a wealth of information to assist with homework and research projects. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Explora

Explora

Search for articles, essays and primary source materials for teens and adults. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Packed with the sights and sounds that make learning fun, this encyclopedia is appropriate for younger students. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 59,640 historical documents, 50,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Lands and Peoples

Lands and Peoples

Provides information on cultures, geography, languages, and news and history of every independent country and continent in the world with maps, flags, photos, and Web links. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want-at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you. Creating a username and password is required and allows Learning Express to remember you and what you were working on. (SMTH)

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus

A highly graphical interface intended for public, academic and high school libraries. The primary goal of LRC Plus is to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

Includes information about authors and their works and is intended for high school students, as well as undergraduate and graduate students. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Masterfile Elite

Masterfile Elite

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily. (Ebsco, Live-brary)

New Book of Knowledge

New Book of Knowledge

A classroom resource for both current events and in-depth information. All the resources of the print version of The New Book of Knowledge—its informative articles, maps and illustrations, facts and figures, Wonder Questions, and projects and activities—are here at your fingertips. Articles are written in a clear, lively style that encourages young students to read. Thousands of photos, maps, flags, and artwork accompany the encyclopedia articles. All political maps contain hot-spotted links to articles and other related maps. Plus, The New Book of Knowledge Online includes a feature created just for online users: NBK News—weekly current events stories plus special features geared especially for young students. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

New Book of Popular Science

New Book of Popular Science

Contains hundreds of articles in the print version plus science games, puzzles, and brain teasers. Top-of-the-news science stories are updated weekly. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. (Gale, Live-brary.com)

Salem History

Salem History

Salem History contains more than 133 iconic full text documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Salem Literature

Salem Literature

Salem Literature has launched a brand-new Critical Insights series. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, in depth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Scholastic GO!

Scholastic GO!

For students and adults - searches four encyclopedias at once; the Encyclopedia Americana, Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge and America the Beautiful. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Science Online

Science Online

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. (Facts on File, Live-brary.com)

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content. Designed to support middle and high school curriculum, Science Reference Center encompasses all disciplines of science. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

Something about the Author

Something about the Author

Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. (Gale, Live-brary.com)