History & Geography

America the Beautiful

America the Beautiful

A comprehensive database about the states and territories of the U.S. designed to meet the needs of all grade levels. It is highly visual, fact-filled, interest-driven, and user-friendly. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

American Journeys

American Journeys

American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. (ALL)

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference, formerly XRefer, is a digital reference library that places a world of factual information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240 high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference is the ideal place to start any research. (Live-brary.com)

CultureGrams

CultureGrams

The CultureGrams Online Database is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe. It includes four editions: the World Edition (for junior high school students and up) and the Kids, States, and Canadian Provinces editions (for upper elementary school students). (ProQuest, Live-brary)

History Reference Center

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 59,640 historical documents, 50,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. (Ebsco, Live-brary.com)

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre

La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre

Spanish resource. Timelines, atlases, maps, Spanish language lessons, and much more - all in Spanish. Estupendos recursos en Español. Continuidad cronologica, atlas, mapas, lecciónes in Español y mucho más - todo en Español. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Lands and Peoples

Lands and Peoples

Provides information on cultures, geography, languages, and news and history of every independent country and continent in the world with maps, flags, photos, and Web links. (Grolier, Live-brary.com)

Masterfile Elite

Masterfile Elite

This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily. (Ebsco, Live-brary)

New York Times Historical (1851-2010)

New York Times Historical (1851-2010)

The entire historical run of The New York Times from 1851-2010. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Newsday Historical (1940-1984)

Newsday Historical (1940-1984)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (ProQuest, Live-brary.com)

Salem History

Salem History

Salem History contains more than 133 iconic full text documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. (SMTH) Password: magill to be used Outside the Library.

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

Suffolk Historic Newspapers

A centralized, searchable collection of Suffolk's newspaper heritage selected to cover nearly 100 years of Suffolk County history. Plans of twenty-eight other county newspapers will be added, providing coverage going back as far as 1791. (Live-brary.com)