Board of Trustees By-Laws

Policy 100-10


The Board of Trustees of the Smithtown Special Library District, created by Absolute Charter Number 23424 granted by the Regents of the University of the State of New York on September 13, 2002 according to the provisions of Section 255 of the New York State Education Law to provide non-partisan public library service free of political influence to the residents of the Township of Smithtown, excluding areas currently serviced by the Sachem Public Library and by the Emma S. Clark Memorial Library, hereby enact the following Bylaws:

ARTICLE I - Board of Trustees

1. The Library shall be governed by a Board of Trustees, hereinafter referred to as the “Board”, consisting of (7) members duly elected by the voting residents within the Smithtown Special Library District.

2 . Tenure of Office

a. Term of Office. Pursuant to Section 3 of Chapter 193, Laws of 2001 the term of office of trustees shall be (3) years.

b. If a trustee does not complete their term a replacement may be chosen, by a majority vote of the remaining Trustees, to serve until the next regularly scheduled Trustee election. At that time a replacement will be elected to fill the remainder of the departed Trustee’s term.

3. Candidates for the position of Library Trustee shall have their primary domicile within the Library District and shall be eligible to vote in the Town of Smithtown elections. No salaried employee of the Smithtown Special Library District shall be eligible for candidacy.